Academic Health Center Duluth
What's Inside



  Home > Leadership



AHC - Image - Leadership - Size 3 - alabsi-2Dr. Mustafa al'Absi is holder of the Max and Mary LaDue Pickworth Chair and the founding Director of the DMRI. He is a professor of behavioral medicine with  joint faculty appointments in the Departments of Family Medicine and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He is also a graduate faculty member in the Department of Neurosciences, the Cellular and Integrative Physiology program, and the Integrated Biosciences program.

He has received funding from National Institute of Health's, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute and the American Heart Association. He has received several honorary awards, including the Herbert Weiner Early Career Award from the American Psychosomatic Society and the Neal E. Miller Young Investigator Award from the Academy for Behavioral Medicine Research.

Executive Committee
The Executive Committee is led by the DMRI Director and provides leadership in the strategic planning and implementation of DMRI goals and objectives.

Scientific Advisory Committee
The Scientific Advisory Committee advises and supports the DMRI leadership in developing a scientific agenda, mission, programmatic direction, and long-range strategies.

External Scientific Board
The External Scientific Board consists of five internationally recognized scientists representing a spectrum of preclinical and clinical research. The Board will participate in an annual retreat to conduct a review of the DMRI's activities

Notice of Privacy Practices